Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

CFAA Challenges After Van Buren – What’s on the Horizon?

July 22

WEBINAR

REGISTER HERE

3:00 p.m. ET | 2:00 p.m. CT | 12:00 p.m. PT
Thursday, July 22, 2021

In Van Buren v. United States, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that a police officer named Nathan Van Buren did not “exceed authorized access” to a law enforcement database, as the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act (CFAA) defines that phrase, even though he obtained information from the database for an improper purpose. The Court clarified that an individual “exceeds authorized access” only when he or she accesses a computer with authorization, but then obtains information located in particular areas of the computer that are then off-limits.

Join our team of legal and cyber forensic professionals to learn more about how the Van Buren decision could impact your personnel policies, insider threat initiatives, web-scraping activities, and related legal considerations.

SPEAKERS

Sujit Raman, Partner, Sidley

Josh Friedman, Associate General Counsel, Cybersecurity Law & Investigations, Facebook

Johnathan Bridbord, Managing Director, Ankura

MODERATOR

Clayton G. Northouse, Partner, Sidley

EmailShare

Details

Date:
July 22
XSLT Plugin by BMI Calculator